Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



Description

Date

Browsing items in: Campus Buildings

(280 results)



Display: 20



    • 1880-1889
    •  
    • In 1886, Henry Harrison Culver and his wife, Emily Jane, built the Homestead on the northeast corner of Lake Maxinkuckee. It became the anchor for their children, five boys and a girl. Today (2008) it is used as an Academy Guest House and small...


    • 1889
    •  
    • Designed and opened in 1889 as part of Henry Harrison Culver's Chautaqua project (1889-99), the Culver Park Hotel had a short life. It closed after two financially unsuccessful years and lay idle until 1894 when it became the first building in the...


    • 1889
    •  
    • At the far right of the Culver Park Hotel stands the Tabernacle that was part of the Chautauqua. It's 5,400 square feet was converted into CMA's first gym and meeting hall and later became a Mess Hall.


    • 1889-90
    •  
    • The Culver Park Hotel was built in 1889 as part of H.H. Culver's Chautauqua project. It's financial collapse in 1890 left the building idle until 1894 when it was adapted for the new Culver Military Academy.


    • 1894 – 1899;
    •  
    • The landing at the CMA pier, circa 1895-6.Winter photograph displays a dismal scene. Main Barrack is in the background. Canal is crossed by wooden bridges. The house at left is unidentified.


    • 1894 – 1899;
    •  
    • The Culver Park Hotel was built as part of the Chautauqua complex opened by H.H. Culver in 1889. After two years it was closed. In 1894, the hotel became the first building in the new CMA. This rare photo shows a meal in progress. The hotel burned...


    • 1894 – 1899;
    •  
    • In 1889, founder Henry Harrison Culver, constructed the Culver Park Assembly hotel on a site now occupied by Main Barrack. The ferry landed at the main pier on well-manicured grounds. Ditches drained marshy fields into the lake and were crossed by...


    • 1894 – 1899;
    •  
    • Main Barrack opened in Sept. of 1895. It replaced the first CMA building, the Culver Park Hotel, which burned in February 1895. It's construction time of eight months was remarkable. Enrollment was 37.


    • 1894 – 1899;
    •  
    • In 1883, Henry Harrison Culver and his wife Emily Jane, purchased about 90 acres on the NE corner of Lake Maxinkuckee. It included a structure which they remodeled into a summer cottage and called the Farmhouse. In the 1900s, it was redesignated...


    • 1894 – 1899;
    •  
    • This early view of the campus, c. 1898, shows its first three buildings: West Barrack, 1897 (l), Main Barrack 1895 (c), and at the far right, the Riding Hall (1898). The tall smoke stack behing Main is part of the Academy Power Plant. The circular...


    • 1894 – 1899
    •  
    • The small lighthouse adjacent to the Marmont ferry pier was lighted whenever a train arrived at the local depot (Marmont until the town name was change in 1897). Ferry boats would transport new arrivals to various hotels and guest houses around...


    • 1894 – 1899;
    •  
    • The construction of Main Barrack in 1895 included a fully operational power house. The Main Annex at the rear of the building contained boilers to produce hot water, steam to provide heat and power electric generators.


    • 1894 – 1899;
    •  
    • Main Barrack (1895), the first building, set the example for the architectual style for campus buildings through 1924. The Legion Memorial Building (1924) marked the last campus construction until 1948 (the Naval Building). Faux towers,...


    • 1894 – 1899;
    •  
    • The Missouri Military Academy, Mexico, Mo., opened in 1890 under the leadership of Col. Alexander Frederick Fleet. On Sept. 24, 1896, his school burned to the ground in a late night fire. At H.H. Culver's invitation, he moved his 72 cadets and...


    • 1894 – 1899;
    •  
    • In 1889, founder Henry Harrison Culver, constructed the Culver Park Hotel on a site now occupied by Main Barrack. The ferry landing was at the main pier. Ditches drained marshy fields into the lake and were crossed by footbridges.


    • 1894 – 1899;
    •  
    • In 1889, Henry Harrison Culver built the Culver Park Hotel as part of his ill-fated Chautaugual project (1889-1890). It contained sleeping rooms, a dining room, kitchen, and shops. The Chautauqua failed to generate a profit and the hotel lay idle...


    • 1894 – 1899;
    •  
    • This 5,400 square foot building served as the Tabernacle for H.H.C.'s ill-fated Chautauqua project (1889-90). It became the first gymnasium for CMA in 1894. After a new gymnasium was built in 1902, it was converted into a new Mess Hall. In 1912,...


    • 1894 – 1899;
    •  
    • Main Barrack was built in 1895 as a three story structure. Water was provided from a rooftop tank (rear). When a fouth floor was added in 1902, the water tower was removed.


    • 1894 – 1899;
    •  
    • Henry Harrison Culver, founder of The Culver Military Academy, was born near London, Ohio in 1840. With his two brothers, he formed the Wrought Iron Range Co. in St. Louis. In 1894 he established the school that bears his name.


    • 1894 – 1899;
    •  
    • Looking north at Main Barrack, 1898. The reflecting pool was built between 1983 and 1885 as part of H.H. Culver's effort to drain the marshy north shore of Lake Maxinkuckee. The first gymnasium is barely visible at the right of Main, and the white...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK